Announcing the 2014 New York Emerging Artist Grantees

[et_pb_section transparent_background=”off” background_color=”#ffffff” inner_shadow=”off” parallax=”off” parallax_method=”off”][et_pb_row][et_pb_column type=”4_4″][et_pb_text admin_label=”Text” background_layout=”light” text_orientation=”left”]

Announcing the 2014 RHMF New York Emerging Art Grantees!

[/et_pb_text][/et_pb_column][/et_pb_row][et_pb_row][et_pb_column type=”1_2″][et_pb_text admin_label=”Text” background_layout=”light” text_orientation=”left”]

The Rema Hort Mann Foundation is thrilled to announce this year’s 2014 RHMF Emerging Art Grantees!

The eight recipients of the

$10,000 unrestricted cash grant are:

Yevgeniya Baras, Cara Benedetto, Dora Budor, Abigail DeVille, Sara Magenheimer, Maia Palileo, Kameelah Rasheed, and Mary Simpson.


The selection process for the grant began in May, where we invited over fifty distinguished curators, artists, critics, art historians and others who have their finger on the pulse of the New York art world, to each nominate three emerging artists for the grant. We had a record response this year, resulting in one of the largest and most impressive pools of applicants from all over the New York City area. From a group of over 100 artists, the eight final grantees were chosen through a second, independent review by the selection committee.

We are pleased to welcome our new group of grantees to join our vast alumni network that include artists such as Dana Schutz, Sarah Sze, Kehinde Wiley, Korakrit Arunanondchai, David Altmejd, Mickalene Thomas, and Virginia Overton, among many others. See our complete grant roster here.

To celebrate this year’s grantees and all of the nominees, the foundation will host a honorary reception at Taymour Grahne Gallery on October 28, 2014 at 6:30PM. More information to follow. Please come meet and welcome this new group of grantees!

[/et_pb_text][et_pb_text admin_label=”Text” background_layout=”light” text_orientation=”left”]

[/et_pb_text][/et_pb_column][et_pb_column type=”1_2″][et_pb_gallery admin_label=”NY2014Grants” gallery_ids=”2144,2533,4311,4434,4337,2912,3358,3013″ fullwidth=”on” posts_number=”4″ show_title_and_caption=”on” show_pagination=”on” background_layout=”light” /][et_pb_text admin_label=”Text” background_layout=”light” text_orientation=”left”]

2014 RHMF Grant Selection Committee

Matthew Higgs (b.1964. Wakefield, England) is a curator, writer and artist in New York. His writings have appeared in more than fifty books, catalogs and periodicals, including Artforum, and Frieze. Higgs is currently the Director and Chief Curator of White Columns, New York’s oldest non-profit art space. Higgs has shown his own work internationally since 1992 and is represented by Murray Guy, New York.

Susan Hort is one of the Founders of the Rema Hort Mann Foundation, as well as an avid collector of contemporary emerging art.

David Humphrey is a New York artist who has shown both nationally and Internationally. He has received a Guggenheim Fellowship and the Rome Prize among other awards. He teaches in the MFA programs at Columbia University and the University of Pennsylvania and is represented by the Fredericks & Freiser Gallery, NY, where he will be having a solo exhibition opening October 9th.

Elisabeth Sherman is an independent writer and a senior curatorial assistant at the Whitney Museum of American Art, New York, where she curated Trisha Baga: Plymouth Rock 2 in 2012.

Lia Zaaloff is an independent curator based in New York City. For five years, she worked at the Bronx Museum of the Arts as a curator and curatorial fellow. At the Bronx Museum, Zaaloff managed the Artist in the Marketplace program, and worked on exhibitions and the permanent collection. She was co-curator of Bronx Calling: The Second AIM Biennial (2013), and worked on museum exhibitions including Juan Downey: The Invisible Architect (2011—2012), Beyond the Supersquare (2014), and presentations of the collection.